Welcome

Processing of Composites

Composite materials are the best choice for lightweight solutions and thus greatly contribute to resource conservation. A meaningful use of composite materials is the key for a forward-looking and sustainable development of our society. Putting this vision into practice has therefore become the goal to which the employees of the Chair of Processing of Composites have dedicated their individual work. As a result, the mission of the chair is the development of processing techniques of polymer-based fibre reinforced composite materials.

 

Our mission

Our mission is the development of manufacturing technologies for the production of fibre reinforced polymer materials. We concentrate on the development, automation and simulation of the individual manufacturing processes.

We consider ourselves as an important part of the Montanuniversität Leoben and the Department Polymer Engineering and Science to cover the entire scientific development chain from resources to products.

Based on the sophisticated fundamental education of the students at the Montanuniversität Leoben, our educational program enables them to gain comprehensive knowledge in the field of composites processing.

By means of cooperations with national and international scientific partners as well as a variety of industrial partners, an interdisciplinary work environment with a high level of practical relevance is created, which enables rapid transformations of scientific findings into real-world applications.

Willkommen

Verarbeitung von Verbundwerkstoffen

Verbundwerkstoffe bilden eine hervorragende Basis, um Leichtbaulösungen umzusetzen und können damit zur Ressourcenschonung beitragen. Der sinnvolle Einsatz von Verbundwerkstoffen stellt daher einen Schlüssel für die zukunftsorientierte und nachhaltige Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft dar. Dies ist die Vision, der sich die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Lehrstuhls verpflichtet sehen und der sie durch ihr persönliches Engagement wertvolle Beiträge leisten wollen.

 

Unsere Mission

Unsere Mission ist die Entwicklung von Verarbeitungstechnologien zur Herstellung von polymerbasierten Faserverbundwerkstoffen. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns auf die Entwicklung, die Automation und die Simulation der jeweiligen Prozesse.

Wir sehen uns als wichtigen Baustein innerhalb der Montanuniversität Leoben und des Departments Kunststofftechnik, um die gesamte wissenschaftliche Entwicklungskette von den Rohstoffen bis zum fertigen Bauteil abdecken zu können.

Aufbauend auf die solide Basisausbildung der Studierenden an der Montanuniversität Leoben sollen in der Lehre umfassende Kenntnisse zum Thema Verarbeitung von Verbundwerkstoffen vermittelt werden.

Durch wissenschaftliche Kooperationen im nationalen und internationalen Umfeld und enge Zusammenarbeit mit industriellen Partnern soll ein interdisziplinäres Arbeitsumfeld mit einem hohen Grad an Praxisnähe geschaffen werden, welches die schnelle Umsetzung der neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse in die Anwendung ermöglicht.