Additive manufacturing

In the area of additive manufacturing we concentrate on the extrusion based technology of thermoplastic materials. For the development of filaments, with defined properties, we can rely on the know how from compounding, the material measurements and also extrusion. besides of the material the great number of printing parameters and the design are from great importance for the quality of the parts.

Projects

3DMultiMat - 3D Printed Functional Multi-Material Components

3DMultiMat - 3D Printed Functional Multi-Material Components

The goal of this three-year (2020-2022) project is to develop a sustainable, stable and flexible manufacturing process for complex multi-material (metal-ceramic) components shaped via extrusion-based additive manufacturing followed by sintering. Two material combinations are investigated. In the first material combination electrically conductive and insulating sections of ceramics are combined. The second area is the manufacture of metal components with sections of magnetic and non-magnetic properties as well as electric conductive and non-conductive properties. 

The Institute of Polymer Processing at the Montanuniversitaet Leoben is leading the project, which has received funding from the Austrian-Chinese Cooperative RTD Program by the Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG). The Austrian industrial partner is RHP Technology and the Chinese partner is the Institute of Metal Research at the Chinese Academy of Science in Shenyang. 

                        


Förderung: Production of the Future, 29. Call, Bilateral Cooperation Austria – Chinese Academy of Sciences, CAS, China  »Project website of FFG

Laufzeit: 01.01.2020-31.12.2022

Partner: RHP-Technology GmbH, Institute of Metal Research (IMR), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

addmanu - investigation of thermal and rheological properties of filaments for 3D printing

addmanu

In the flag ship project Addmanu the chair researches the thermal and rheological properties of the filaments for 3D printing and correlations between these properties and the printed parts should be found. With the optimized process parameters the quality of the printed parts should be increased. With the project partner Hage alternative feeding devices should be developed.

 

Homepage addmanu

AM4I - quality assurance and cost models supporting the wide spread use of additive manufacturing

AM4I

The FFG CORNET project AM4I (Additive Manufacturing for Industry) focuses on quality-assured 3D printing processes for the production of technical components from high-performance polymers and hybrid constructions in the SME environment.

The core idea of ​​the project is to fit additional manufacturing technologies (Fused Filament Fabrication (FFF)) for industry in terms of quality, time and costs. Metal-, ceramic- and polymer-printing are taken into account and the entire value-added process of material - print - component is illuminated.

The Chair for Polymer Processing deals with three specific case studies from the automotive, filament extrusion and orthopedics.

CerAMfacturing - ceramic and multi material components for personalized medical products

CerAMfacturing

In this project the additive manufacturing of ceramic should be developed for consumer goods and medical devices, which are impossible to produce with other techniques. The chair develops ceramic polymer compounds, but also electrically conductive materials for fused filament fabrication. These should be printed at the same time and after sintering form a compact part with customised and multifunctional components.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme.

Partner: Fraunhofer-Institut für keramische Technologien und Systeme, Admatec, Ceramicx Ireland Ltd, et al.

Homepage CerAMfacturing

ECOPRINT

The efficiency and reliability of power electronics depends very much on the temperature.  Growing  demands to reduce the size of electronic components leads to the use of new technologies and materials, while ensuring efficient cooling and economical production.

The ECOPRINT project addresses these needs by developing new metal-polymer and metal-organic hybrid compounds for use in additive manufacturing. The development steps are the functionalization of metallic and ceramic powder particles by atmospheric plasma or wet chemical processes, incorporation of these powders into high performance polymers, optimization of filaments, modification of equipment for processing by additive manufacturing and investigation of new materials for high temperature applications.


Funding:  Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)M-ERA.NET

Duration: 01.08.2018-31.07.2021

Partner: Siemens, plasmatreat, IFAM Bremen, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Cubicure, EVO-tech  

 

 

FlexiFactory3Dp - Flexible production via 3D printing of sintered metal and ceramic complex parts

Video Printing

FlexiFactory3Dp

Flexible production via 3D printing of sintered metal and ceramic complex parts

The goal of this two-year (2017-2019) project is to develop a sustainable, stable and flexible manufacturing process for complex metallic and ceramic components shaped via extrusion-based additive manufacturing. Among the applications of this process in the project are the manufacturing of monolithic catalysers for air purification and components for the mobility industry.

The Chair for Polymer Processing is leading the project, which has received funding from the Austrian-Chinese Cooperative RTD Program. The Austrian industrial partner is RHP Technology, and the Chinese partners are the Research Center of Nano Science and Technology at Shanghai University and the Shanghai Industrial Technology Institute.

 

 

 

 

 

             

Natural3D - Component reinforcement by biofiber reinforced polymers

Natural3D

The core idea of ​​this two-year project is to print biofiber-reinforced polymers on free-form surfaces along the flow to maximize the components.

The Chair for Polymer Processing, together with the Kompetenzzentrum Holz Wood K Plus (consortium leadership), has received funding for the project "Natural3D" from the call "Austrian-Chinese Cooperative RTD Projects".

The other project partners are FH Technikum Wien, Hage GmbH CoKG, Ecoplus, Thermoplastkreislauf GmbH, HeadSport GmbH, Haratech GmbH and Shiner3D GmbH.

NextGen 3D - material development for industrial additive applications

NextGen 3D

The FFG cooperation and innovation project NextGen3D deals with the materials development for the industrial additive manufacturing. Polyolefins should be developed and optimized for extrusion-based additive manufacturing, as such polymers are not commercially available. The impact strength and the heat deflection temperature of the polyolefins are higher than the normally used polymers for extrusion-based additive manufacturing.

In addition, polypropylene is to be tested for filament production, which is characterized by a higher toughness, good modifiability, lower moisture absorption and better temperature and chemical resistance compared to commercially available filaments of ABS or PLA.

 

REProMag - resource efficient production of rare earth magnets from recycling material

REProMag

The goal of this EU funded project is the development of a resource efficient manufacturing route for Rare-Earth magnets. At the chair a polymer metal compound is developed, which should be used on fused filament fabrication printers (FDM printer). The printed parts are put into a solvent to remove the first polymeric compounds and afterwards the parts are sintered to get homogenous rare earth magnets.

Project funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme.

 

Homepage REProMag

Rohstoffeffizienzpreis

REProMag - Preisträger des Umwelt Technik Preises 2017

Tripolfact - Complex components from tribopolymers by additive, hybrid or conventional production

Tribopolymers are becoming increasingly important in industry, especially in the field of drive engineering, and often generate new market demands. The used manufacturing technology plays a central role in the manufacture of products from these materials, both in terms of technical performance and economic features.

The Tripolfact project compares additive and conventional manufacturing as well as hybrid manufacturing technologies.

 



Funding: The Tripolfact project is funded by FFG/BMWFW in the "COIN, Cooperation and Networks" programme.

Duration: 2018 - 2020

Partner:
Heinz Ehgartner Gesellschaft m.b.H., EVO-tech GmbH, DI Karl Josef Schnetzinger, Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH, Faigle Kunststoffe GmbH

Equipment

3Devo NEXT 1.0

[Translate to Englisch:] 3Devo NEXT 1.0

3Devo NEXT 1.0

  • Handles temperatures up to 450 °C
  • Diameter range Ø from 0,5 to 3mm 
  • Capacity up to 1 kg/hour of
  • Multiple materials including ABS, PLA, Nylon and even PEEK

Hage3D 140L

[Translate to Englisch:] Hage3D 140L

Hage3D 140L

  • Fused Filament Fabrication
  • Printing area 700 x 500 x 400 mm
  • Printing temperature of 300 ° Celsius to 450 ° Celsius
  • Pre-stressed, heated precision platform with three heating zones, 1,000 W

HAGE3Dp-A2

HAGE3Dp-A2

  • Fused Filament Fabrication
  • Prining area 620 x 400 mm²
  • Max. hight 290 mm
  • Twin extrusion for two materials
  • Heated printing bed

Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus

Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus

  • Fused Filament Fabrication
  • Prining area 200 x 200 mm²
  • Max. hight 180 mm
  • Heated printing bed

ARBURG freeformer 200-3X

ARBURG freeformer 200-3X

  • Additive production with standard granules
  • Discharge units: 2
  • construction area: 200 cm²
  • component carrier: 3-axes

 


The freeformer is provided to the Institute of Polymer Processing by ARBURG as part of the CAMED project and will further promote the use of additive manufacturing technologies at the Montanuniversität Leoben.

Room with almost dust-free environment

Room with almost dust-free environment

  • nearly 10 m² 
  • Nearly dust and particle free environment
  • Ventilation system Air volume 600 m³
  • 20 air changes per hour possible

Additive Fertigung

Im Bereich der Additiven Fertigung beschäftigen wir uns mit der extrusionsbasierten Technologie von thermoplastischen Materialien. Für die Entwicklung von Filamenten mit definierten Eigenschaften kann auf das vorhandene Know-How vom Compoundieren, der Stoffdatenbestimmung und auch der Extrusion zurückgegriffen werden. Neben den Materialien sind auch die Vielzahl an Druckparametern und das Design von enormer Wichtigkeit für die Qualität des Bauteils.

Projekte

3DMultiMat - 3D Printed Functional Multi-Material Components

3DMultiMat - 3D Printed Functional Multi-Material Components

Ziel dieses auf drei Jahre (2020-2022) angelegten Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen, reproduzierbaren und flexiblen Herstellungsverfahrens für komplexe Multimaterialkomponenten (Metall-Keramik), die mittels extrusionsbasierter additiver Fertigung mit anschließendem Sintern geformt werden. Zwei Materialkombinationen werden untersucht. Bei der ersten Materialkombination werden elektrisch leitfähige und isolierende Abschnitte aus Keramiken kombiniert. Der zweite Bereich ist die Herstellung von Metallbauteilen mit abschnittsweise magnetischen und nichtmagnetischen Eigenschaften sowie leitenden und nichtleitenden Eigenschaften. 

Der Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung an der Montanuniversität Leoben leitet das Projekt, das vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) und der österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) im Rahmen des Österreichisch-Chinesischen kooperativen FTE-Programms gefördert wird. Der österreichische Industriepartner ist RHP Technology, der chinesische Partner ist das Institut für Metallforschung an der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Shenyang. 

                        


Förderung: Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG, Produktion der Zukunft, Produktion der Zukunft, 29. AS Produktion der Zukunft 2019 China CAS  »Projektwebsite der FFG

Laufzeit: 01.01.2020-31.12.2022

Partner: RHP-Technology GmbH, Institut für Metallforschung an der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

addmanu - Untersuchung von thermischen und rheologischen Eigenschaften von Filamenten für den 3D-Druck

addmanu

Im FFG Leitprojekt Addmanu untersucht der Lehrstuhl die thermischen und rheologischen Eigenschaften der Filamente für den 3D-Druck und Korrelationen zwischen diesen und den gedruckten Bauteilen sollen gefunden werden. Mit den optimierten Prozessparametern soll die Qualität der Bauteile deutlich erhöht werden. Weiters wird in diesem Projekt gemeinsam mit Hage als Projektpartner an alternativen Fördersysteme geforscht.

 

     

 

Homepage addmanu

AM4I - Qualitätssicherung und Kostenmodelle für die industrielle, additive Produktion

AM4I

Im Fokus des FFG CORNET Projekt AM4I (Additive Manufacturing for Industry) stehen qualitätsgesicherte 3D-Druck-Prozesse für die Herstellung von technischen Komponenten aus Hochleistungspolymeren und Hybridkonstruktionen im KMU-Umfeld.

Kernidee des Projekts ist es, additive Fertigungstechnologien (Fused Filament Fabrication, FFF)  in Bezug auf Qualität, Zeit und Kosten industriefit machen. Dabei werden der Metall-, der Keramik- als auch der Kunststoffdruck berücksichtigt und der gesamte Wertschöpfungsprozess Material – Druck – Bauteil beleuchtet.

Der Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung beschäftigt sich dabei im Arbeitspaket "Plastics" mit drei konkreten Case Studies aus dem Bereich Automobil, Filamentextrusion und Orthopädie.

Weitere Informationen

CerAMfacturing - generative Fertigungsmethoden für personalisierte Medizinprodukte

CerAMfacturing

In diesem Projekt wird die Additive Produktion von keramischen Bauteilen für Gebrauchsgüter und medizinische Bauteile entwickelt, welche mit bestehenden Technologien nicht wirtschaftlich hergestellt werden können. Am Lehrstuhl werden Keramik-Polymer-Compounds, aber auch leitfähige Materialien für Fused Filament Fabrication Drucker (FDM Drucker) entwickelt. Diese sollen  gemeinsam gedruckt werden und formen nach dem Sintern ein kundenspezifisches und multifunktionales Bauteil.

CerAMfacturing wird im Rahmen des “Horizon 2020” Forschungs- und Innovations­programms der Europäischen Union gefördert.

Partner: Fraunhofer-Institut für keramische Technologien und Systeme, Admatec, Ceramicx Ireland Ltd, et al.

Homepage CerAMfacturing

ECOPRINT

Die Effizienz und Verlässlichkeit von Starkstromelektronik hängt sehr von der Temperaturbelastung ab. Der steigende Bedarf an Verkleinerung der elektronischen Komponenten führt zum Einsatz neuer Technologien und Materialien, wobei eine effiziente Kühlung und eine wirtschaftliche Produktion eine große Rolle spielen.

Das Projekt ECOPRINT adressiert diese Bedürfnisse, indem es neue Metall-Polymer und Metall-Organische Hybrid Compounds für den Einsatz in der additiven Fertigung entwickelt. Die Entwicklungsschritte sind die Funktionalisierung von metallischen und keramischen Pulverpartikeln mittels atmosphärischen Plasma oder nasschemischer Prozesse, Einarbeiten dieser Pulver in Hochleistungspolymere, Optimierung der Filamente, Modifikation von Anlagen für die Verarbeitung mittels additiver Fertigung und Untersuchung neuer Materialien für Hochtemperaturanwendungen.

 


Förderung:  Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFGM-ERA.NET

Laufzeit: 01.08.2018-31.07.2021

Partner: Siemens, plasmatreat, IFAM Bremen, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Cubicure, EVO-tech  

FlexiFactory3Dp - Flexible Produktion von Sintermetall- und Keramikkomplexteilen mittels 3D-Druck

FlexiFactory3Dp – Flexible Produktion von Sintermetall- und Keramikkomplexteilen mittels 3D-Druck

FlexiFactory3Dp

Flexible Produktion von Sintermetall- und Keramikkomplexteilen mittels 3D-Druck 

Ziel dieses zweijährigen Projekts (2017-2019) ist die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen, stabilen und flexiblen Herstellungsprozesses für komplexe metallische und keramische Bauteile mittels Extrusion-basierter additiver Fertigungstechnologien. Zu den Anwendungenfeldern dieses im Projekt entwickelten Prozesses gehören die Herstellung monolithischer Katalysatoren für die Luftreinigung sowie Komponenten für die Mobilitätsbranche.

Der Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung leitet das Projekt, das durch das FTE-Programm "Austrian-Chinese Cooperative RTD Projects" gefördert wird. Der österreichische Industriepartner ist die RHP-Technology GmbH und die chinesischen Partner sind das Forschungszentrum für Nanowissenschaften und -technologie an der Universität Shanghai und das Shanghai Industrial Technology Institute.

 

 

 

             

      

Natural3D - Bauteil-Verstärkung durch biofaserverstärkte Kunststoffe

Natural3D

Kernidee des 2-jährigen Projekts ist es, biofaserverstärkte Kunststoffe auf Freiformflächen entlang des Kraftflusses zu drucken, um so die Bauteile maximal zu verstärken.

Der Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung hat zusammen mit dem Kompetenzzentrum Holz Wood K Plus (Konsortialführung) im Call "Austrian-Chinese Cooperative RTD Projects" eine Förderung für das das Projekt "Natural3D" bekommen.

Partner: FH Technikum Wien, Hage GmbH CoKG, Ecoplus, Thermoplastkreislauf GmbH, Head Sport GmbH, Haratech GmbH und Shiner3D GmbH.

NextGen 3D - Materialentwicklung für industrielle additive Anwendungen

NextGen 3D

Das FFG Kooperative F&E Projekt NextGen3D beschäftigt sich mit der Materialentwicklung für industrielle additive Anwendungen.

Insbesondere sollen Polyolefine entwickelt werden, welche für die extrusionsbasierte additive Fertigung optimiert sind, da solche Polymere derzeit nicht kommerziell angeboten werden. Die Schlagzähigkeit und die Temperaturbeständigkeit der Polyolefine sind höher als bei den derzeit eingesetzten Polymeren.

Darüber hinaus soll auch Polypropylen für die Filamentproduktion getestet werden, das sich im Vergleich zu kommerziell erhältlichen Filamenten aus ABS oder PLA durch eine höhere Zähigkeit, eine gute Modifizierbarkeit, geringere Feuchtigkeitsaufnahme sowie eine bessere Temperatur- und Chemikalienbeständigkeit auszeichnet. 

 

REProMag - ressourceneffiziente Herstellung von Seltenen Erden Magneten aus Recyclingmaterial

REProMag

Das Ziel dieses von der EU geförderten Projektes ist die Entwicklung einer ressourceneffizienten Herstellungsmethode für Seltenerdmagnete.

Am Lehrstuhl wird dafür ein Kunststoff-Metall-Compound entwickelt, welches auf FDM (Fused Filament Fabrication)-Druckern verarbeitet werden kann. Anschließend wird ein Teil des Kunststoffes aufgelöst und im letzten Schritt durch Sintern ein homogenes Bauteil aus Seltenerdenmagneten hergestellt.

REProMag wird im Rahmen des “Horizon 2020” Forschungs- und Innovations­programms der Europäischen Union gefördert  (Grant Agreement Nr. 636881) .

Das Projekt wurde im Juli 2017 mit dem Umwelttechnikpreis Baden-Württemberg sowie im Jänner 2018 mit dem Deutschen Rohstoffeffizienz-Preis 2017 prämiert.

 

Homepage REProMag

Rohstoffeffizienzpreis

REProMag - Preisträger des Umwelt Technik Preises 2017

Tripolfact - Komplexe Bauteilen aus Tribopolymeren mittels additiver, hybrider oder konventioneller Fertigung

Tribopolymere gewinnen speziell im Bereich der Antriebstechnik zunehmend an industrieller Bedeutung und erzeugen vielfach neue Nachfragen am Markt. Für die Herstellung von Produkten aus diesen Materialien hat die eingesetzte Fertigungstechnologie eine zentrale Rolle, sowohl hinsichtlich technischer Performance als auch wirtschaftlicher Merkmale.

Im Projekt Tripolfact werden die additive und konventionelle Fertigung sowie hybride Fertigungstechnologien verglichen.

 


Förderung: Das Projekt Tripolfact wird im Programm „COIN, Kooperation und Netzwerke“ durch FFG/ BMWFW gefördert.

Laufzeit: 2018 - 2020

Partner:
Heinz Ehgartner Gesellschaft m.b.H., EVO-tech GmbH, DI Karl Josef Schnetzinger, Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH, Faigle Kunststoffe GmbH

Ausstattung

3Devo NEXT 1.0

3Devo NEXT 1.0

3Devo NEXT 1.0

  • Verarbeitungstemperaturen bis  450 ° Celsius
  • Durchmesser Ø 0,5 - 3mm 
  • Kapazität bis zu 1 kg / Stunde
  • Materialien wie ABS, PLA, Nylon und sogar PEEK

 

 

 

Hage3D 140L

Hage3D 140L

Hage3D 140L

  • Schmelzeschichtdrucker (FFF)
  • Druckfläche 700 x 500 x 400 mm
  • Drucktemperatur von 300° Celsius bis 450° Celsius
  • vorgespannte, beheizte Präzisionsplattform mit drei Heizzonen, 1.000 W

HAGE3Dp-A2

HAGE3Dp-A2

  • Schmelzeschichtdrucker (FFF)
  • Druckfläche 620 x 400 mm²
  • Höhe max. 290 mm
  • Dualextruder für zwei Materialien
  • Beheiztes Druckbett

Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus

Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus

  • Schmelzeschichtdrucker (FFF)
  • Druckfläche 200 x 200 mm²
  • Höhe max. 180 mm
  • Beheiztes Druckbett

 

 

ARBURG freeformer 200-3X

ARBURG freeformer 200-3X

  • Additive Fertigung mit Standardgranulaten
  • Austragseinheiten: 2
  • Baufläche: 200 cm²
  • Bauteilträger: 3-Achsen

 


Der freeformer wird dem Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung von der Firma ARBURG im Rahmen des Projektes CAMED zur Verfügung gestellt und wird die Verwendung der Additiven Fertigungstechnologien an der Montanuniversität Leoben weiter vorantreiben.

Raum mit nahezu staubfreier Umgebung

Raum mit nahezu staubfreier Umgebung

  • knapp 10 m² 
  • Nahezu staub- und partikelfreie Umgebung
  • Lüftungsanlage Luftmenge 600 m³
  • 20 Luftwechsel in der Stunde ermöglicht