Recycling

In times of raw material scarcity and climate change, it is becoming increasingly important to deal effectively and efficiently with existing resources.

In the area of ​​plastic recycling, there has been a rapid technical "upgrade" in the last few years, as more and more demands are being made to realize a recycling management. The chair for polymer processing has specialized in the upcycling of (technical) thermoplastics and the sustainability analysis (LCC / LCA).

Projects

C-PlaNet - Circular Plastics Network for Training

Bild von Peggy und Marco Lachmann-Anke auf Pixabay

In accordance with the funding program, the project aims at the education and international networking of 15 doctoral students, who are working in a wide range of disciplines from chemistry, social, political and engineering sciences to product design and business model development and complement each other. These PhD students are expected to develop a holistic approach and a mutual understanding of the complex factors and interrelationships for a functioning circular economy for plastic products and to advance this topic in Europe as future experts

Project name: "Circular Plastics Network for Training" (C-PlaNeT)
Funding: Horizon 2020 MSCA-ITN-EJD (Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions - Innovative Training Networks - European Joint Doctorates)
Project duration: 1.1.2020 to 31.12.2023

Consortium:  Ghent University (Konsortialführer) Technische Universiteit Eindhoven Technical University of Denmark Technische Universität Berlin Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen Nürnberg Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

In addition, the project is supported by internships and consulting of well-known companies and institutions, among others:  Fraunhofer Gesellschaft (D),  Dow Benelux (NL),  INEOS Styrolution (SUI),  Novo Nordisk (DK),  Plastics Europe (BE),  Ellen McArthur Foundation (UK),  Adidas (D),  Kruschitz und Saubermacher (A)

 

&nb

Rec2TecPart ​-​ Functional components made of polymer secondary raw materials

Rec2TecPart

Secondary raw materials in the plastics sector have so far hardly been used in high-quality functional components since high quality requirements prevail.

The FFG COIN project "Rec2TecPart" aims to enable the use of secondary products in this complex area for SMEs. With the help of a new value-added process, new products are to be replaced technically and economically by means of quality recyclates, so-called RecHQs. This means high resource efficiency and lower CO 2 emissions. For this purpose tailor-made starting material is manufactured from plastic waste for technically demanding applications. This is done with a continuous process from the collection system through the polymer recycler to the polymer processor.


PolySlag - Blast furnace slag as sustainable functional filler for polymers

PolySlag

Blast furnace and steel slags are compulsory in steel production and are normally disposed of. Due to their unique, multi-phase nature, completely new materials could be produced by intermixing in polymer matrices.

The current  FFG-BRIDGE  research project „PolySlag“  is investigating the potential of blast furnace slag (BFS) as a functional filler for polypropylene (PP) and polystyrene (PS) as an alternative to mineral fillers. The first results were promising in so far as the rheological properties of the BFS filled polymers were similar to the neat polymer causing no processing difficulties. Regarding their application properties an increased thermal conductivity as well as higher stiffness compared to the neat polymer were achieved. 

Partner: Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH (PCCL), voestalpine Stahl GmbH

Life Cycle Assessment of r2PET

Life Cycle Assessment of r2PET

In this life cycle assessment at the Chair of Polymer Processing the goal was to determine, if any CO2 eq. saving is possible, when 1 t r2PET is used in the non-food sector in Austria in 2017 instead of 1 t of PET virgin material.

Life-cycle-assessment (LCA) is a technique to assess environmental impacts associated with all stages of a product‘s life from cradle to grave (i.e. from raw material extraction through material processing, manufacture, distribution, use to disposal or recycling). LCA compares hereby the environmental effects assignable to products and services by quantifying all inputs and outputs of material and energy flows. This information can be used to improve both, products and processes.

The research work of the Chair for Polymer Processing focuses on twice recycled PET, manufactured  by TPKL GmbH, per an internal r2PET process. Thus, the functional unit is 1 t of r2PET granulate, which is compared with 1 t virgin PET granulate (PET NW).

Recycling

In Zeiten von Rohstoffknappheit und Klimawandel wird es immer wichtiger, effektiv und effizient mit vorhandenen Ressourcen umzugehen.

Im Bereich Kunststoffrecycling gab es in den letzten Jahren eine rasante technische "Aufrüstung", da immer mehr gefordert wird, eine Kreislaufwirtschaft zu verwirklichen. Der Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung hat sich dabei auf das Upcycling von (technischen) Thermoplasten und auf die Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse (LCC/LCA) spezialisiert.

Projekte

Tex2Mat: neue Aufbereitungsprozesse für Textilabfälle

Die gesetzlichen Vorgaben der EU zur Kreislaufwirtschaft stellen die österreichische Textilbranche vor große Herausforderungen, vor allem da Textilien oftmals aus zwei oder mehr Materialien bestehen, was das stoffliche Recycling sehr erschwert.

Im Zuge des Projektes Tex2Mat soll für Baumwoll-PET-Mischgewebe ein Trennverfahren basierend auf einem enzymatischen Prozess entwickelt werden. Das beim Prozess gewonnene, reine PET (aus Handtüchern, Hotel- und Krankenhauswäsche) soll so aufbereitet werden, dass es wieder für den Spinnprozess und letztlich für den ursprünglichen Einsatzzweck verwendbar wird.

Das Projekt Tex2Mat wird von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG im Rahmen von COIN, Kooperation und Netzwerke, COIN Netzwerke 9. Ausschreibung gefördert. 

Konsortium: ecoplus.Niederösterreichs Wirtschaftsagentur GmbH, Montanuniversität Leoben Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung, HERKA GmbH, Technische Universität Wien Institut für Verfahrenstechnik, Umwelttechnik und Technische Biowissenschaften, DI Monika Renate Daucher, SALESIANER MIETTEX GmbH, Thermoplastkreislauf GmbH., Universität für Bodenkultur Wien Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie, Ing. Gerhard Fildan Gesellschaft m.b.H., Starlinger & Co Gesellschaft m.b.H.HUYCK.WANGNER Austria GmbH

 

Weitere Informationen im Zweijahresbericht 2017 - 2018 (S. 47)

Rec2TecPart ​-​ Funktionsbauteile aus polymeren Sekundärrohstoffen

Rec2TecPart

Sekundärrohstoffe im Kunststoffbereich kommen bislang kaum in hochwertigen Funktionsbauteilen zur Anwendung, da hier hohe Qualitätsansprüche herrschen. Das FFG COIN Projekt „Rec2TecPart“ will den Einsatz von Sekundärware auch in diesem komplexen Bereich für KMUs ermöglichen. Mit Hilfe eines neuen Wertschöpfungsprozesses soll dabei Neuware durch Qualitätsrezyklate, sogenanntes RecHQ, technisch und wirtschaftlich sinnvoll ersetzt werden. Das bedeutet hohe Ressourceneffizienz und geringere CO 2-Emissionen. Zu diesem Zweck wird aus Kunststoffabfall maßgeschneidertes Ausgangsmaterial für technisch anspruchsvolle Anwendungen hergestellt. Dies geschieht mit einem durchgehenden Prozess vom Sammelsystem über den Kunststoffrecycler bis zum Kunststoffverarbeiter.

Durch die Prozessumstellung kann eine Verringerung der CO 2-Emissionen um mindestens 25 % sowie eine wesentliche Kostenersparnis im Vergleich zum Einsatz von Neuware erreicht werden. Kunststoffabfall wird so Wertstoff und Werkstoff zugleich. Eine Anwendung des Rec2TecPart-Prozesses Richtung großindustrielles Upcycling, zum Beispiel in der Automobilindustrie, ist das nächste Ziel.

 

PolySlag - Hochofenschlacke als nachhaltiger funktioneller Füllstoff für Kunststoffe

PolySlag

Hochofen- und Stahlschlacken fallen bei der Stahlerzeugung zwangsweise an und werden normalerweise deponiert. Durch ihre einzigartige, auf Multiphasen beruhende Beschaffenheit könnten - eingemischt in Polymermatrizen - völlig neue Werkstoffe erzeugt werden.

Im laufenden FFG-BRIDGE Forschungsprojekt „PolySlag“ wird das Potenzial von Hochofenschlacke (blast furnace slag – BFS) als funktioneller Füllstoff für Polypropylen (PP) und Polystyrol (PS) als nachhaltige Alternative zu mineralischen Füllstoffen untersucht. Die ersten Ergebnisse sind vielversprechend: Die rheologischen Eigenschaften des neuen BFS-gefüllten Polymers waren vergleichbar mit dem ungefüllten Polymer, wodurch mit keinen Verarbeitungsschwierigkeiten zu rechnen ist. Bei den anwendungsbezogenen Eigenschaften wurde eine höhere Wärmeleitfähigkeit sowie größere Steifigkeit gegenüber dem Basispolymer erzielt. 

Partner: Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH (PCCL), voestalpine Stahl GmbH

Ökobilanzierung von r2PET (zweimal rezykliertes PET)

Ökobilanzierung von r2PET

In der Ökobilanzierung von r2PET sollte am Lehrstuhl für ­Kunststoffverarbeitung ermittelt werden, wieviel in Österreich im Jahr 2017 an CO 2 eq. eingespart werden können, wenn im Non-Food-Bereich anstelle von PET-Neuware, r2PET eingesetzt wird.

Unter Ökobilanzierung wird die systematische Analyse der Umweltwirkung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen entlang ihres gesamten Lebenszyklus verstanden. Zu dieser Analyse gehören sämtliche Umweltwirkungen während der Produktion, der Nutzungsphase und der Entsorgung des Produktes sowie die damit verbundenen vor- und nachgeschalteten ­Prozesse. Außerdem werden hierzu alle relevanten Entnahmen aus der Umwelt (z. B. Erze, Rohöl) sowie die Emissionen in die Umwelt (z. B. Abfälle, Kohlenstoffdioxidemissionen) gerechnet.

Die Forschungsarbeit des Lehrstuhls für Kunststoffverarbeitung fokussiert dabei auf zweimal rezykliertes PET von der Firma TPKL GmbH, hergestellt nach dem internen ­r2PET-Prozess. Die funktionelle Einheit ist 1 t r2PET, die mit 1 t PET-Granulat-Neuware (PET NW) verglichen wurde.