Development of the Institute

In 1970, the Institute of Polymer Processing (Institut fuer Kunststoffverarbeitung KV) was one of the two founding institutes of the Department of Polymer Engineering at the Montanuniversität Leoben. Within the last 50 years it has developed into a modern, efficient and recognised research institute. The basis for this is a team of highly quali-fied and motivated employees. 

In January 1973 o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Werner Knappe, who was head of department at the DKI - Deutsches Kunststoffinstitut in Darmstadt, began his service as full professor for polymer processing. The existing rooms were quickly adapted and used as offices and laboratories. Due to the good contacts to the Austrian machine manufacturers Battenfeld / Kottingbrunn, Cincinnati-Milacron / Vienna and Engel / Schwertberg, the technical center could be equipped with modern injection molding machines and extruders. With further donations from Alpla / Hard and Hoechst / Frankfurt and the purchase of some equipment a state-of-the-art teaching and research was possible from 1977 on. 

The first assistant, Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Karl Gissing supported the development of the institute from April 1974 on. Already in the academic year 1975/76 a comprehensive range of courses was offered, which was also significantly supported by lecturers from industry. From the beginning, the most important fields of research were injection molding, extrusion and material data determination and the projects were carried out in close cooperation with the industry. 

In October 1984 Prof. Knappe retired and Dr. Gissing took over the management of the KV. In 1985, however, he also left the MUL and Dipl.-Ing. Walter Friesenbichler, who had completed his studies in April 1984, became provisional head of the institute until 1989. He was assisted by a number of study assistants, among them Christian Kukla, who was particularly committed. 

In July 1989 o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter R. Langecker became the new full professor of the institute. He had previously worked for 12 years at Battenfeld / Meinerzhagen, Germany. In his last position as managing director he was responsible for the technical development of injection molding machines, extrusion lines, blow molding lines and PUR systems. 

During his 17 years as head of the KV he has been intensively involved in basic and application-oriented research in the field of polymer processing as well as contemporary academic teaching. The machine equipment was complemented by further modern machines. Above all, investments were also made in computer equipment, as a new research focus was added: computational design of screws and the simulation of injection molding. He was chairman of the curriculum commission for more than 15 years. Prof. Langecker had made a significant contribution to the further development of polymer processing in Austria.

When he retired on 30.9.2006, he handed over a flourishing institute to Ass.Prof. Dr.mont. Walter Friesenbichler, who led the institute as provisional head until the end of 2008. During this time, the number of employees and third-party funding was further expanded and research cooperation was increasingly internationalized. Prof. Friesenbichler took responsibility for the polymer processing related projects for the second funding period of the PCCL and the K1 application of the PCCL.

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont Clemens Holzer is heading the institute since 1.11.2008. Prof. Holzer had completed his doctorate under Prof. Langecker and worked in Switzerland for 14 years. First in different positions in the polymer processing industry at Huber+Suhner, Pfaeffikon / CH, the last years he was deputy director of the Institute for Polymer Nanotechnology INKA and professor at the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland in Windisch / CH.

A central concern during his appointment negotiations was to bring together the 4 polymer institutes in one joint building and to establish a department. Under his leadership and with the extraordinary dedication of Dipl.-Ing. Stephan Schuschnigg, it was possible to move into the new "Center for Polymer Engineering and Science" in April 2010. The department was founded in the same year and was headed by Prof. Holzer in the first period. 

In the new center an exemplary and internationally renowned polymer processing technology center was established and through the close cooperation with the polymer industry in Austria and Germany it could be exemplarily equipped with state-of-the-art machines. 

Copyright of photos: Günter R. Langecker 

To top

Entwicklung des Instituts

Das Institut für Kunststoffverarbeitung (KV) war 1970 eines der beiden Gründungsinstitute des Instituts für Kunststofftechnik an der Montanuniversität Leoben. In den letzten 50 Jahren hat es sich zu einem modernen, leistungsfähigen und anerkannten Forschungsinstitut entwickelt. Die Basis dafür ist ein Team von hochqualifizierten und motivierten Mitarbeitern. 

Im Jänner 1973 wurde o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Werner Knappe, der als Abteilungsleiter am DKI - Deutsches Kunststoffinstitut in Darmstadt tätig war, seinen Dienst als Ordinarius für Kunststoffverarbeitung an. Die vorhandenen Räume wurden schnell adaptiert und als Büros und Laboratorien genutzt. Durch die guten Kontakte zu den österreichischen Maschinenherstellern Battenfeld / Kottingbrunn, Cincinnati-Milacron / Wien und Engel / Schwertberg konnte das Technikum mit modernen Spritzgießmaschinen und Extrudern ausgestattet werden. Mit weiteren Spenden von Alpla / Hard und Hoechst / Frankfurt und der Anschaffung einiger Geräte war ab 1977 eine dem Stand der Technik entsprechende Lehre und Forschung möglich. 

Der erste Mitarbeiter, Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Karl Gissing unterstützte die Entwicklung des Instituts ab April 1974. Bereits im Studienjahr 1975/76 wurde ein umfangreiches Lehrangebot geschaffen, das auch von Dozenten aus der Industrie maßgeblich unterstützt wurde. Die wichtigsten Forschungsgebiete waren von Anfang an Spritzgießen, Extrusion und Materialdatenermittlung, wobei die Projekte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie durchgeführt wurden.

Im Oktober 1984 trat Prof. Knappe in den Ruhestand und Dr. Gissing übernahm die Leitung der KV. 1985 schied er jedoch auch aus der MUL aus und Dipl.-Ing. Walter Friesenbichler, der im April 1984 sein Studium abgeschlossen hatte, übernahm bis 1989 interimistisch die Leitung des Instituts. Unterstützt wurde er von einer Reihe von Studienassistenten, unter ihnen Christian Kukla, der sich besonders engagierte. 

Im Juli 1989 wurde o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter R. Langecker neuer ordentlicher Professor des Instituts. Er hatte zuvor 12 Jahre lang in Battenfeld / Meinerzhagen, Deutschland, gearbeitet. Zuletzt war er als geschäftsführender Direktor verantwortlich für die technische Entwicklung von Spritzgießmaschinen, Extrusionsanlagen, Blasformanlagen und PUR-Systemen.
Während seiner 17-jährigen Tätigkeit als Leiter der KV hat er sich intensiv mit der grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierten Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Kunststoffverarbeitung sowie mit der zeitgenössischen akademischen Lehre beschäftigt. Die Maschinenausstattung wurde durch weitere moderne Maschinen ergänzt. Vor allem wurde auch in die EDV-Ausstattung investiert, da ein neuer Forschungsschwerpunkt hinzukam: die rechnerische Auslegung von Schnecken und die Simulation des Spritzgießens. Mehr als 15 Jahre lang war er Vorsitzender der Lehrplankommission. Prof. Langecker hatte einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Polymerverarbeitung in Österreich geleistet.

Als er am 30.9.2006 in den Ruhestand trat, übergab er ein florierendes Institut an Ass.Prof. Dr.mont. Walter Friesenbichler übergeben, der das Institut bis Ende 2008 als interimistischer Leiter leitete. In dieser Zeit wurde der Mitarbeiter- und Drittmittelbestand weiter ausgebaut und die Forschungszusammenarbeit zunehmend internationalisiert. Für die zweite Förderperiode des PCCL und den K1-Antrag des PCCL übernahm Prof. Friesenbichler die Verantwortung für die polymerverarbeitungsbezogenen Projekte.

U niv.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont Clemens Holzer leitet das Institut seit dem 1.11.2008. Prof. Holzer hatte bei Prof. Langecker promoviert und 14 Jahre in der Schweiz gearbeitet. Zuerst in verschiedenen Positionen in der polymerverarbeitenden Industrie bei Huber+Suhner, Pfäffikon / CH, die letzten Jahre war er stellvertretender Direktor des Instituts für Polymer-Nanotechnologie INKA und Professor an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz in Windisch / CH.
Ein zentrales Anliegen bei seinen Berufungsverhandlungen war es, die vier Kunststoff-Institute an der Montanuniversität in einem gemeinsamen Gebäude zusammenzuführen und das Department für Kunststofftechnik zu gründen. Unter seiner Leitung und mit dem außerordentlichen Engagement von Dipl.-Ing. Stephan Schuschnigg konnte im April 2010 das neue "Zentrum für Kunststofftechnik" bezogen werden. Das Department wurde im gleichen Jahr gegründet und in der ersten Periode von Prof. Holzer geleitet.
In dem neuen Zentrum wurde ein beispielhaftes und international anerkanntes Technologiezentrum für Polymerverarbeitung aufgebaut und konnte durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Polymerindustrie in Österreich und Deutschland vorbildlich mit modernsten Maschinen ausgestattet werden. 

Copyright der Bilder: Günter R. Langecker 

Nach oben